How to Permanently Delete Your Twitter Account
If you are planning not to use Twitter anymore for any reason, you can choose to close your account permanently and enjoy a tweet-free life. This tutorial will show you how to delete a Twitter account permanently.
Twitter is a great place to connect with your friends and with popular people such as your favorite celebrities, famous social media personalities you follow and companies that you like. With its unique 140 character limit for tweets, status updates in other words, it is a simple but quite fun and practical platform to stay in touch with others and keep an eye on what's going on around the world.
Twitter can be counted among the top three social networking websites (or apps), next to Facebook and Instagram, where you can spend a good time communicating and sharing things with your followers and those who you follow. Though there are many users who use Twitter frequently on a daily basis, sending multiple tweets and messages per hour, there are also users who use it occasionally when they need to make an important status update or check someone's last tweet from time to time.
Whether you are using Twitter like an addict or just once in a while, you may have your own reasons for wanting to totally stop using it and close your account. For example, it might be taking a lot of your time and you might be having difficulty controlling your desire to log in and check what your friends are up to every 5 minutes. Or, you might be having privacy issues and you no longer want your profile to appear on Twitter. Or maybe you just don't feel like using Twitter anymore.
In any case, you can close and delete your Twitter account for good, following some simple steps as we will explain below.
TIP: You may also find the following account deletion tips to be useful:
How to Permanently Delete Facebook Account
How to Permanently Delete Instagram Account
How to Permanently Delete LinkedIn Account
How to Remove Google Play Store Account from Android
How to Close a Twitter Account Permanently
Before you proceed with the account deletion steps, make sure that you are absolutely sure about deleting your Twitter account as there will be no going back once the account is deleted (after the deactivation period expires). Also, you may want to back up your Twitter data, such as your followers, tweets and media files (images, videos etc.) you shared, before you close your account, if that data is important to you.
STEP 1: Visit Twitter in your web browser and log in to your account: twitter.com
STEP 2: Once logged in, click the Profile and Settings button (your profile icon) at the top right corner of the screen, to the left of the Tweet button.
This will open a dropdown menu with a number of options.
STEP 3: Click the Settings link on the dropdown menu to open your account settings page.
STEP 4: On the Settings page, make sure the Account tab is selected from the left menu and scroll down to the bottom of the page till you see the Deactivate my account button.
STEP 5: When you are ready to close your account, click the Deactivate my account button.
On the next page, you will be provided with important information regarding the deactivation/closure of your account.
Read these instructions carefully. A couple of important points to note are that your account will be deactivated as soon as you confirm and it will stay in inactive status for 30 days, after which it will be permanently deleted, assuming you don't log in to your account within that period. Your profile will be removed from Twitter in a few minutes, but some of the content may still be viewable for a few days. To change your username or URL, you don't need to delete your account. Also, if your profile page was indexed via search engines like Google or any other websites, those reference links may or may not be removed in time, after your account deletion.
STEP 6: After reading the instructions, click the Deactivate @yourusername button at the bottom.
A confirmation popup window will appear, asking you to enter your password to proceed with deleting your account.
STEP 7: Enter you password and click Deactivate account button.
On the next page, you should see "Your account is now deactivated" message, which means that you have successfully deactivated your account. If you don't log back in within the next 30 days, your account will be permanently deleted after that period.
If you are a Twitter app user, you can uninstall it from your phone/tablet, also if you want to clear your browsing history related to your Twitter activities, don't forget to delete your browser history too.